Wynonna Earp Season 1 Episode 3 – Give Us A Hand

As anyone who works on a film or TV series knows, what is fabricated or shot for an episode or scene is not necessarily what the viewing audience is going to see once the piece airs. It could disappear when the scene is edited, be shot differently from what was in the script, or the entire scene could be cut. It can be tough to put hours of work into something only to see it not included in the finished product, but that’s just the way it goes, unless you’re working on something that’s being shot in real time.

Early in Episode 3 of Wynonna Earp (“Leavin’ On Your Mind” now available on iTunes – see link below), there was an excellent example of the above situation – when a man’s hand is chopped off.

This scene was originally intended to be much more graphic than what was shot and aired. The actual cutting off of the hand was to be seen. If you caught the episode, you might remember this scene was shot from a distance and at an angle from above – as though from a security camera – and the way the actors were positioned, you could not see the sawing of the hand. To further minimize the graphically gruesome visuals and to reflect what a somewhat grainy security camera might show, it was aired in black and white.

IMG_4210  IMG_4197

As the pictures here attest, the hand and arm were created to look very realistic in keeping with the plan to show a close up view of the hand being sawed off, with bones, ligaments etc. showing from either end. Although we pride ourselves on the realistic look of our prosthetics, we recognize that for various reasons, they won’t necessarily end up in the final cut of the episode. We know there are countless examples of this happening in other films and TV series.  We’d love to hear your story, if you’ve experienced a similar situation or know of an interesting prosthetic or effect being built that didn’t screen in the final airing.  It would be fun to include the best story in a future blog – so stay tuned.

Wynonna Earp airs on the Syfy Channel on Fridays at 10 pm and is live streamed on CHCH TV’s website in Canada on Friday nights at 10 pm EST, 8 pm MST and Monday nights at 9 pm EST, 7 pm MST.

The first three episodes and other features are also available by clicking here on  iTunes.

 

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s